Strangers

Daily Prompt: Standout

I talked about anonymity yesterday in Pride. But in truth, there’s a dichotomy in my hopes for this space. Forget the reason behind the anonymity in the first place. The important question is do I truly want anonymity?

I don’t want any attention from the people who know me. You see, I value their opinion the most. And I haven’t yet created anything worthy of their time. Maybe in a few years, I’ll finally have a body of work, or maybe just that one masterpiece, that I’m willing to stamp my name on.

At the same time, I definitely don’t want my current work to be overlooked, forgotten, disregarded. I yearn for approval, criticism, just to be seen. I have no concerns about sharing who I am and what I create with strangers. Now, there’s a dilemma.

One thought on “Strangers

  1. snosler

    I get it – I struggled with this too. Sometimes I think if I had not used my real name then I could be less guarded with things I say – because yes, people we know always read our stuff even if they say they don’t. Still, I am a writer so by nature I need to use my real name … well, anyway, I get it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

