My Dilemma

Boredom is the feeling that everything is a waste of time; serenity, that nothing is. – Thomas Szasz

My mother has always said I should write. “Oh, you’re such a great writer. Why don’t you ever write anything anymore?” Everyone’s mother wants them to be great at something but maybe when it comes to this, I kind of always believed the hype.

But here’s the rub: I’m a chronic non-finisher. I start lots of projects and I rarely finish any of them. I’m good at most things I try –there’s just never a finished product. (Brewing may be the sole exception here but making alcohol is its own reward so I’ve never thought of it as a challenge.)

Ultimately, I just get bored and it seems like a waste of time to pursue things further. Maybe I bite off more than I can chew. Maybe I just lack the discipline to complete projects. Maybe I’m not good at defining goals.

Then there’s my renewed health kick. A few weeks prior to my son’s birth, I quit smoking. Then, when my wife was starting to feel like her body was hers again, we returned to the gym (sporadically). We’ve since gotten much more serious. I track my food and I’m consumed with the idea of losing weight and being healthier.

I walk 10,000 steps per day at least. When you make yourself walk 5 miles, you have a lot of time to think. There’s a lot of serenity. I don’t get bored because I can finally think about anything I wish and I’m completely uninterrupted. Maybe that’s its own reward. Maybe Thomas Szasz is right. Maybe finding serenity in my hobbies, distractions, and work is the key to avoiding boredom.

 

 

Leave a Reply

